Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Don’t Panic

Posted by Andrea Graham on September 30, 2005

According to KTVB.com, an Economist is saying everyday items will cost more as a result of the devastation hurricanes have wrought on the hurricane-prone gulf coast.

I’m sure the question being whispered around in Evangelical circles, especially among our friends with Rapture Fever, is whether America’s prices going up is somehow a sign of the end times. Now, if the whole world had been ravaged like this, they might have a point, but let me join the brave few in saying what Jesus said 2000 years ago: Don’t Panic.

Perhaps this IS a divine judgment or warning, but could someone please tell me why American Evangelicals are so self-important to think every act of God(to use insurance-company speak)that afflicts our nation means we’re gonna fly up to Heaven tomorrow and take time to fold our clothes while we’re changed in a twinkling of an eye?

Sorry, pet peeve.

Anyway, I have news for our dear friends. We’ve been in the Last Days ever since the Temple fell in 70 AD. They won’t believe me, they’re apt to just quote the same verses I was paraphrasing when I quoted Jesus as saying Don’t Panic, Matthew 24:1-8–

And Jesus went out, and departed from the temple: and his disciples came to him for to shew him the buildings of the temple. And Jesus said unto them, See ye not all these things? verily I say unto you, There shall not be left here one stone upon another, that shall not be thrown down.

And as he sat upon the mount of Olives, the disciples came unto him privately *, saying, Tell us, when shall these things be ? and what shall be the sign of thy coming, and of the end of the world?

And Jesus answered and said unto them, Take heed that no man deceive you.

For many shall come in my name, saying, I am Christ; and shall deceive many. And ye shall hear of wars and rumours of wars: see that ye be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places. All these are the beginning of sorrows.

Funny how we’re reading the same passage here and hearing two different things. They see a list of signs that prove we’re gonna fly away any minute, I’m reading Jesus saying bad things are gonna happen, don’t worry about it, not every tribulation that comes your way means the second coming is tomorrow. In others, Guys (i.e., the twelve), chill out, the temple being destroyed doesn’t equal the end of the world. In fact, it’s only the beginning. You’ll have at least two thousand years more to go after the temple’s destroyed.

Of course, He does go on to answer the question about the end. I guess that’s where the confusion comes from.

Regardless, let’s stop blaming this on Bush, on the government in general, and/or on the second coming, and start asking ourselves why it looks like a tribulation (versus the Great Trib) is coming down on our nation.

By the way, the Lord tells us the solution way back in 2 Chron 7:13,14: “If I shut up heaven that there be no rain, or if I command the locusts to devour the land, or if I send pestilence among my people; If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

This is not the end of the world, I promise. But, America could be another story if we the people (who are called by His Name every time someone calls us a Christian Nation) don’t get down on our faces and repent.

By the way, for those who care, I’m technically an evangelical myself. I’m not a preterist, either, but post-trib, non-eminent. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, don’t worry about it. It’s not really all that important. At least Paul didn’t think so. In I Cor. 2:1,2 he writes: “And I, brethren, when I came to you, came not with excellency of speech or of wisdom, declaring unto you the testimony of God. For I determined not to know any thing among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.”

Strangely enough, Paul’s opinion on the End Times didn’t make the list.

tags: , ,
One Response to “Don’t Panic”

  1. Adam Graham [Member] said

    Good post with a lot of great info. A godly response to crisis is to confess your sins, a hypocritical response is to blame the sins of others. I think specifically of how Daniel (who in Ezekiel is listed along with Noah and Job in the Righteous Hall of Fame) repents of HIS sins rather than just pointing at the sins of others. Judgment, as Peter wrote, starts at the House of God

Leave a Reply

 
