Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Defining Liberalism Down

Posted by Adam Graham on January 25, 2007

Captain Ed has an extraordinary piece where he expends some of his considerable influence trying to make Rudy Giuliani sound like something he’s not:

Many people have dismissed Rudy Giuliani’s run for the presidency, calling the former mayor of New York too liberal to win in the primaries. Critics point to his messy personal life and his centrist positions on abortion and gun control as insurmountable liberalism for a true Republican’s vote.

What infuriates me about some at the top of the new media is that they spend so much time playing old media games. Rudy Giuliani a moderate on abortion?

“I’m pro-choice. I’m pro-gay rights,” Giuliani said. He was then asked whether he supports a ban on what critics call partial-birth abortions. “No, I have not supported that, and I don’t see my position on that changing,” he responded.

That’s a moderate?

“I’d give my daughter the money for it [an abortion].”

That’s a moderate position on abortion? Really, I’d like to see what Ed calls a liberal on abortion. As for Mayor Giuliani’s governance of New York City, while certainly preferable to the incompetence of David Dinkins, this man was endorsed in 1993 and 1997 by the Liberal Party.

Why do Conservatives insist on expending so much time supporting such an obvious liberal?

Leave a Reply

 
