Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Comments or Not

Posted by Adam Graham on February 8, 2007

Clayton Cramer has long come under fire from liberal Idaho blogs for not having comments. He cites the recent case involving lesbian uberblogger Pam Spaulding had a situation come up where someone posted the personal information of a conservative Christian leader. Clayton writes:

Comments on blogs can either be moderated (which ends up taking a lot of a blogger’s time) or unmoderated (in which case, the blogger may not be aware of what’s being said in the comments). One informed, Pam Spaulding removed these comments and emphasized that this was not acceptable behavior.

That’s why I have never turned commenting on in my blog. Who needs the aggravation of letting unhinged idiots post trash like that (and worse) in the comments?

I have a strong personal preference for having comments. With the RSS feed of the blog comments, little gets by me. I read every comment on this blog.

But you know, it can be a hassle. I have thousands of spam trackbacks (I’d wager a little less than 200,000) and it always seems to keep growing. So frequently in blogging, the comments overwhelm the articles, so that people don’t get to do as much of what they enjoy (writing about what they love.) Instead they’re a slave to the “have the last word” mentality and the blog doesn’t get new articles.

Then you have unhinged people leave threats. Between the spammers and nuts, it’s difficult. When I was a new blogger, I made some judgments on not having comments, but as I’ve grown up in blogging, I realize there’s no right way to blog, no right features to have, no hard and fast rules. It’s all yours. You alone get to decide and what tools or features you use depend on what you want to do with it. If you don’t like what a blogger has, get your own blog. It’s not that hard.

2 Responses to “Comments or Not”

  1. I think it really depends on how controversial your posts are. I get about 3/4 of the traffic that Clayton does, and I’ve never really had that much of a problem with controlling the comments. Of course, I have no idea what’s getting put down once a post goes off my front page.

  2. Adam Graham [Member] said

    A lot of blog software gives the ability to track comments. I don’t think blogger is one of those.

Leave a Reply

 
