Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

A Frustrating Night

Posted by Adam Graham on February 19, 2007

Okay, so I didn’t achieve much of what I hoped to at today’s Lincoln Day dinner. Part of it was my fault. I got there and the batteries on my recorder were dead, so I couldn’t record Lynn Swann’s speech.

Swann’s speech was good, though not memorable. It was typical Lincoln day fare that mixed personal inspiration with some good old rooting for the GOP. The room loved him. He made good use of humor in his speech and I heard one man say, “We need to all move to Pennsylvania to vote for him.” Yeah, right, like we’d make it through one Pennsylvania winter. :) But I appreciated the sentiment and would agree that it was a shame that Swann wasn’t elected Governor. Hopefully, he’ll be able to make it one of these days.

I brought along a football to get autographed to give to a friend and ended up the last person standing still in line when Swann said it was the last autograph.

On the bright side, I did get to chat with someone close to my age, and it was a pleasant conversation. It was the highlight of the evening.

Leave a Reply

 
