Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Taken To The Cleaners

Posted by Adam Graham on March 5, 2007

Julie Fanselow isn’t quite buying the amount that some Businesses are paying to start blogging:

According to a January study by Forrester Research, most companies can start blogging for between $25,000 and $45,000

Julie writes:

Can I offer a reality check? Your business can start blogging for next to nothing. TypePad – the service I use for Red State Rebels and employed for Larry Grant’s campaign blog – costs less than $15 a month for its “pro level,” which is super easy to use, allows multiple authors and multiple blogs, and provides 1 GB of storage and 10GB of bandwidth a month. That’s plenty for most small to mid-size businesses that hope to attract a few hundred to a few thousand readers a day to their blog.

The only other cost I can think of is personnel. Yes, blogging takes a little time, but for the average business blogger making one or two posts a week, we’re talking an hour or so a week, max. Toss in a few hours for the tech staff (or a contractor) to initially design the blog and maybe two hours a week to monitor comments. We’re not talking a lot of time.

Julie has a point, although if I were running a business blog, I’d want to buy a dot com, but that’s only $50 more. Maybe, it explains the ability of business writers to charge a high price for a fairly easy service that no one understands.

Though, if I can get away with charging $25,000 to set up a blog for someone, I ought to consider it. Three clients and I’ll gladly quit my day job, and spin my spare time podcasting and writing about politics.

Leave a Reply

 
