Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

A Stand Up Moment for Mr. Newt

Posted by Adam Graham on March 8, 2007

I’ve not been a huge fan of Newt Gingrich for at least 12 years, I’ve been suspicious of him. I’ll admit that my suspicions aren’t totally allayed but I’ve got to admit that I respect him taking responsibility:

“The honest answer is yes,” Gingrich, a potential 2008 Republican presidential candidate, said in an interview with Focus on the Family founder James Dobson to be aired Friday, according to a transcript provided to The Associated Press. “There are times that I have fallen short of my own standards. There’s certainly times when I’ve fallen short of God’s standards.”

Gingrich argued in the interview, however, that he should not be viewed as a hypocrite for pursuing Clinton’s infidelity.

“The president of the United States got in trouble for committing a felony in front of a sitting federal judge,” the former Georgia congressman said of Clinton’s 1998 House impeachment on perjury and obstruction of justice charges. “I drew a line in my mind that said, ‘Even though I run the risk of being deeply embarrassed, and even though at a purely personal level I am not rendering judgment on another human being, as a leader of the government trying to uphold the rule of law, I have no choice except to move forward and say that you cannot accept … perjury in your highest officials…”

“There were times when I was praying and when I felt I was doing things that were wrong. But I was still doing them,” he said in the interview. “I look back on those as periods of weakness and periods that I’m … not proud of.”

I give Newt credit. When people are dealing with affairs, most politicians weave or blame someone else. Newt is admitting fault and addressing what happened honestly. He’s of course, correct that Clinton was impeached for perjury and obstruction of justice, not sex. To that end, five Democrats agreed with the majority of Republicans in voting to impeach, and an additional Democrat, William Lipinski (D-Ill.) after voting against impeachment called Clinton and told him he ought to resign.

Of course, there’s the matter of how he started breaking budget caps as soon as 1997 and how he treated house conservatives like Tom Coburn with contempt issues that should come to light should he decide to run.

Linked by the Right-o-Meter

Leave a Reply

 
