Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

I Sold Out My Principles In Hopes of Electing a Gun-Grabbing Liberal New Yorker And All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt

Posted by Adam Graham on March 13, 2007

Nails on a chalkboard, a CD that’s skipping and won’t stop, Cal Thomas writing a column on Christian political involvement. All go in the same category. Thomas, who is embarassed by fellow Christians who still care about things like abortion or the idea that traditional values matter, gushes:

That substantial numbers of conservative evangelical voters are even considering these candidates as presidential prospects is a sign of their political maturation and of their more pragmatic view of what can be expected from politics and politicians. It is also evidence that many of them are awakening to at least two other realities — (1) they are not electing a church deacon; and (2) government has limited power to rebuild a crumbling social construct.

He’s so proud of Conservative Christians who are willing to sell out their principles and realize that we really can’t expect honesty and integrity from our political leaders, and that we might as well forget about someone who will lead our culture forward and make changes. Folks in government have limited power to help rebuild culture. Remember, Amazing Grace is just a movie. That stuff doesn’t happen in real life.

I think if my memory of scripture doesn’t allude me that’s called, “The salt has lost its savor and is good for nothing but to be trod under foot of men.” At least, I recall that being what Jesus said.

Thankfully, I don’t think most Christian Conservatives are that far gone. If they were, Beth (update: My bad, didn’t notice it was a multiple writer blog.) Martin at My Right Wing Conspiracy wouldn’t have gone off on a tirade:

I’m not familiar with the Al Qaeda position on abortion, though it seems likely to be pretty….clear cut.

But I do know their position on western infidel adult life, namely they’d like to end as many as possible.

This being the case, why are prominent conservatives wringing their hands and worrying about Rudy Giuliani’s pro-choiceness?

As Phylis Schafly listens to Hillary’s inaugural, I’m sure it’ll be a big comfort to know that she kept a pro-choice Republican President out of the White House.

Ironically, I came to this link through Pro-Life Blogs. It seems she’s ignoring the requirements in that she doesn’t promote Pro-Life blogs on the site with a banner or front page link.

But, that’s just as well. My personal opinion is that folks like Beth should consider whether they want to continue to use the pro-life label. It seems silly to say “I’m pro-life, but I’ll support a guy who would pay for his daughter’s abortion. I’m pro-life, but I’ll support a guy who has a record of appointing liberal judges.”

If Rudy Giuliani is the nominee of the GOP, you can bet the Republican Party will drop it’s pro-life platform. People talk about changing hearts and minds, but if pro-lifers don’t take the issue seriously, how can anyone else?

Why does Beth then back Rudy? Because she’s scared. She writes in the comments:

Well, see how pro-life the Democrats are when stubborn fellow pro-life conservatives refuse to elect a Republican who is serious about fighting terrorism (and who would undoubtedly NOT nominate activist judges).
How can you say you’re “pro-life” if you don’t even care about the future of your own children?

I’m as pro-life as anyone, but I have a daughter. I don’t want her to spend her life under the threat of Islamists–not even if it were a Cold War-style threat.

We may not like it–I certainly don’t–but unless someone spectacular materializes (and fairly soon–and I do NOT mean Gingrich, I mean someone without all those negatives), you might as well get used to the fact that the overall electorate is more centrist than we are.

In other words, she’s scared. I don’t think it’s a stupid kind of fear, but I think it’s the type of fear that can in the end hand victory to the terrorists.

I’ve got bad news. No matter who wins in November, we will all be living under the threat of terrorism for decades to come. Rudy doesn’t have a magic solution. Does she think Osama Bin-Laden and friends are two-bit street hoods with Saturday night specials that Rudy can send a few cops to arrest? No, these people are spread throughout the world and as long as Islam exists with no central authority, there will be a minority of Imans and Mullahs spreading hate. Rudy has no solution that will make this disappear in eight years.

As for the judges, see the LA Times article linked above. Nothing in Rudy’s record indicates he’d do anything but appoint activist judges.

You want to know fear? Let me tell you what will happen if Rudy Giuliani gets in office:

-The Republican Party as we know it will be decimated. As happened during the Eisenhower years, Republicans will begin a slow bleed of seats as social conservatives retreat from the process, disheartened by a White House which used them and then treated with utter and complete disdain. Democrats with majorities of around 60 in the Senate and 270 in the House will stymie President Giuliani in the war on terror.

-Giuliani, who was nominated by the New York Liberal Party for Mayor three times, will play ball with the Democratic Congress. You can expect massive new government spending, universal healthcare, Hillary-style.

-Giuliani will not reform entitlements with a hostile and liberal Congress that will become more liberal by the year.

By the time the Giuliani administration is over, Republicans will have a long 24 year period in the wilderness as Democrats will elect presidents, raise taxes, and trash the remains of our culture.

Our weakened culture will become an easy target for Islamist extremists. As France was last year, so America will be in 20 years, with ultra-tolerant PC liberals passing laws that will never be enough for radical extremists.

Under the weight of out-of-control entitlement spending, the economy will collapse. What Bin-Laden couldn’t do to us on 9/11, we will do to ourselves under the leadership of Giuliani and the RINOs who will follow him. Out-of-control government could steal seventy, eighty percent of what our daughters earn. And with big government health care, daughters could die waiting in line as happens in Canada.

You want to be afraid? Try being afraid of what’s probable. Don’t bother daydreaming about Rudy fixing terrorism in eight years, or Hillary destroying the country. The last time Hillary held power with a Democratic Congress, Democrats were decimated. I have faith in God who governs in the affairs of men. We are never guaranteed an outcome, but we must stand for what we believe to be right. I believe that’s the truest path. We stand firm and people will see the truth in time. Americans are not as idealogical as Beth indicates, if it were a matter of just knowing where candidates stood on the issues, then image consultants wouldn’t have a place in presidential politics.

I believe Stonewall Jackson spoke true when he said, “Duty is ours, results are God’s.” And I see no justification for nominating a man like Rudy.

Trackposted to Outside the Beltway, Blog @ MoreWhat.com, Perri Nelson’s Website, The Virtuous Republic, The Random Yak, basil’s blog, Stuck On Stupid, Conservative Cat, Conservative Thoughts, Pursuing Holiness, Rightlinx, third world county, stikNstein… has no mercy, Walls of the City, Overtaken by Events, Blue Star Chronicles, Pirate’s Cove, Planck’s Constant, Dumb Ox Daily News, Right Voices, and Gone Hollywood, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe.

UPDATE

Beth said she did have the Pro-Life blogs banner on her site and I looked and after a couple minutes, I found it. I had to click the Show/hide link and then more than 20 + buttons appeared and the Pro-Life Blogs link is #18. I’m sure the promotional help from Pro-Life Blogs is much appreciated.

5 Responses to “I Sold Out My Principles In Hopes of Electing a Gun-Grabbing Liberal New Yorker And All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt”

  1. I agree with you on this. Rudy Giuliani is not an acceptable candidate in my eyes. He’s very liberal, and while he’s saying things to appease conservatives, conservatives seem to be trying to redefine conservatism to fit his left-wing-but-good-in-a-crisis style.

    There don’t seem to be a lot of good choices available in the Republican lineup yet. McCain isn’t acceptable either, and Gingrich will probably wait to throw his hat into the ring until it’s too late.
    I think it’s got to be either Mitt Romney or Tom Tancredo. Unfortunately neither of them seem electable at the moment. I’m not really that hot about Romney either, and Tancredo is just too much of an unknown.

  2. Uh…Adam? You might want to read that post again. Start with the name. You lost me in this post after you said “Beth” a couple times, because I didn’t write it. Furthermore, you are wrong about a ProLife Blogs banner. Look again. It’s been there since DAY ONE of my being part of it. You’ve got one hell of a lot of nerve actually questioning my pro-life beliefs, though! And I’m “scared?” HAHA! Clearly, you’re projecting. (What next, will you be calling me a chickenhawk?) You don’t know the first thing about me or my blog, obviously.

    That said, I agree with the writer of that piece (I’ll leave it to you to look at the post again to find the name) in the point that the GOP must win.

    But that’s OK. I think this is rather entertaining. Since you made some points rather loudly but were 100 percent off on the every premise, I won’t bother arguing with you about any of the rest. You are clearly not interested in anything but your OWN “tirade.”

    And finally, it’s no sweat off my back if you want to come after me anyway. It’s not the first time I’ve disagreed with people on my own side, and it won’t be the last. I’m sure you have been in that position as well. I just want to make sure “our side” wins in November 2008, because the alternative will result in precisely what you’re afraid of, and worse.

    BTW, do you even know whom I support for 2008? Hint: Giuliani is not first on my list. He’s not last, either, though.

  3. Adam Graham [Member] said

    First of all, Beth, my bad, for not noticing this was a multiple-user blog. However, as most of my comments are directed towards your reply, and you agree with the main point, it’s a semantical issues.

    As for the Pro-Life Blogs button er I found it, but I wouldn’t call it necessarily in the Spirit of the Pro-Life Blogs ideal. You have to click the show/hide button on the left hand side of the page and scroll and it’s the 18th Item down. under a series of links.

    Finally, yes you are so scared of the terrorists that you’ll do anything to stop them including electing someone who will destroy the pro-life plank of the GOP and attack the pro-life movement as a hole.

  4. You know what, Adam? I had NO IDEA that having the ProLife Blogs button was the arbiter of whether or not one is pro-life or not. Silly me. I guess you’d better tell the millions of others who mistakenly believe they’re pro-life because they don’t have it at all! See, some people try to keep their sidebar clutter to a minimum, or at least keep it out of the way. (You certainly must have noticed I have my blog categories, recent posts, and blogrolls behind a “click more” link–and that’s far more important to me than a bunch of banners!)

    I’m glad you aren’t concerned with terrorism at all. Must be nice. I hope you’ll remember your self-righteousness when you finally wake up. You sound EXACTLY like the leftards who squawk “you’re scared!” about people who are more concerned with foreign policy/war/terrorism than they are (and who think 9/11 was an inside job because there are no real terror groups). EXACTLY like them.

    Perhaps you should stop calling yourself a “conservative” and should just go with “single-issue voter.” Or “tiny tent” Republican (good luck ever seeing your ideals enacted, with such a tiny pool of noisy, thought-policing voters).
    TIP: You draw more with honey than vinegar, etc. (See also: the immigration debate, with many advocates referring to illegal aliens as “wetbacks.”)

    Or rather than “tiny tent Republican,” “clueless crackpot” would be more accurate.

    You know, “life” means a whole lot of things. For example, one meaning as in “get a life.” Please.

    P.S. I never did notice you addressing exactly whom you think I really DO support for 2008. Again, Rudy isn’t my first–or even second–choice. Just goes to show how much you know!

    P.P.S. If this is simply an exercise in traffic-whoring, you should have picked a more willing target. There are plenty of others who would oblige. Besides, the post is a few days old so it basically won’t work on its own, cutesy post title or not.

  5. Adam Graham [Member] said

    You know what, Adam? I had NO IDEA that having the ProLife Blogs button was the arbiter of whether or not one is pro-life or not.

    It has to do with being an active part and promoting the blog,

    I’m glad you aren’t concerned with terrorism at all. Must be nice. I hope you’ll remember your self-righteousness when you finally wake up. You sound EXACTLY like the leftards who squawk “you’re scared!” about people who are more concerned with foreign policy/war/terrorism than they are (and who think 9/11 was an inside job because there are no real terror groups). EXACTLY like them

    I never said I’m not concerned about a terrorism, but probably any candidate in this field could handle it (excepting Messrs Hagel and Paul), though as a commenter on my article pointed out at FR, those who favor illegal immigration like Rudy, McCain, et al will make our country less secure.

    You’re getting pretty hysterical here, actually.

    Perhaps you should stop calling yourself a “conservative” and should just go with “single-issue voter.” Or “tiny tent” Republican (good luck ever seeing your ideals enacted, with such a tiny pool of noisy, thought-policing voters)…

    Or rather than “tiny tent Republican,” “clueless crackpot” would be more accurate.

    You know, “life” means a whole lot of things. For example, one meaning as in “get a life.” Please.

    if you read my blog, you’ll see I talk about a lot of other issues including the border, taxes, etc. Giuliani isn’t even in the same league as Jim Gilmore who is pro-choice and conservative on other things. Electing Giuliani doesn’t advance anyone’s values accept for gun-grabbers, abortionists, and gay rights activists. They’d love it.

    As for your candidate, I don’t see anything on the website, and your post seems to indicate you’re uncommitted. Finally, while I know there are more posts I could have targeted, I write what I see and this one by your friend got my blood boiling.

Leave a Reply

 
