Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Acting Like a Spoiled Child

Posted by Adam Graham on March 24, 2007

Trish and Halli have a guest post up from Jesse Higgins who described himself as a “long-time supporter of the Governor”:

Although I agree with your veto of H0121(smoking in bowling alleys) I am not sure I agree with all of your reasoning. Since you stated in your veto letter “Given legislative concerns about ’social engineering,’ particularly in regard to my proposal for targeted expansion of the grocery tax credit” (more about that later) it appears you are acting like a spoiled child, saying, if you will not give me what I want I will not give you what you want. The supporters of the “Clean Indoor Air Act H0121 state “Public Place” as their justification. They confuse public and private property. Just because I allow the public on my property I should not be forced by government to relinquish what is left of my PRIVATE PROPERTY rights…

House bill H081a is a different matter. How dare you veto a bill that will return 31 to 32.4 million dollars to the taxpayers of Idaho and claim the state cannot afford it! You were elected on a platform of conservative principles that include smaller government, lower taxes (this is what we are talking about), and less intrusive government. I am not even asking you to cut the budget of any government agency – just reduce the rate of growth by 1.5%. This is not your money. This money belongs to the people of Idaho. Give it back when you have the chance.

Indeed, the Governor has some ‘splainin’ to do.

Leave a Reply

 
