Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

What Bugs Me About Duncan Hunter

Posted by Adam Graham on April 24, 2007

Duncan Hunter writing on the Pork Busters site:

I’d like to thank NZ Bear for giving me the opportunity to address the readers here at Porkbusters. I really appreciate that because Porkbusters, the Club for Growth, and the rest of the blogosphere have provided an invaluable service for American taxpayers by highlighting wasteful spending and working to get it cut out of the budget. There have been a few Republican politicians who seem to have a problem with that, but I’m not one of them…

First of all, I think Ronald Reagan spoke for all of us in the conservative movement when he said,

“We don’t have a trillion-dollar debt because we haven’t taxed enough; we have a trillion-dollar debt because we spend too much.”

Hunter’s right, but he has a huge problem on the spending front as he tries to blithely gloss over:

That being said, I’m sure we do have a few areas of disagreement. There will be programs that Porkbusters opposed that I supported, differences in opinion over some issues, and policies that we don’t see eye to eye on. However, I’ve found that we conservatives, especially over the last couple of years, have spent too much time looking for ways to split ourselves apart and not enough time talking about where we agree.

A few issues? This would be like saying that Hillary Clinton and National Right to Life disagreed on a few issues. The most recent example is the earmarks reform Amendments offered by Congressman Jeff Flake. Flake promoted to eliminate 19 wasteful earmarks. Of the 19 Amendments, Hunter opposed every last one. The National Taxpayers Union gave him 4 years of grades of “C” or “C +.” And now he’s trying to reinvent himself as a fiscal conservative? I don’t buy it. That’s not just because I back another candidate. I back another candidate because I don’t buy the flip-flopping. If he was saying, “I was blind, but now I see.” that I could buy. But he’s not even admitting his complicity in creating this mess through overspending Ronald Reagan would never approve.

Leave a Reply

 
