Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Buck Romney in the 24th 1/2 Century

Posted by Adam Graham on May 9, 2007

I read this quote from Mitt Romney with some interest:

“In France, for instance, I’m told that marriage is now frequently contracted in seven-year terms where either party may move on when their term is up. How shallow and how different from the Europe of the past.”

My first reaction was, really? Islam has long practiced temporary marriage as an option and I could see this happening. Some more well-travelled bloggers have realized this is in error. Where did it come from?

According to the New Republic:

Actually, I think I know what he’s talking about. There’s an Orson Scott Card novel in which marriages actually are contracted out for seven years (don’t ask how I know). And Romney is a big fan of sci-fi. So maybe that explains it.

Doh. “Well, Orson Scott Card novels, the New York Times” just all kind of runs together. Look, there are enoughh real reports of problems with marriage without someone making up junk like that. Mitt Romney is so minor league. Egad.

Leave a Reply

 
