Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Made for a Woman…Ph Unbalanced for a Man

Posted by Adam Graham on May 29, 2007

This Reuters story comes as no shock to me:

CHICAGO (Reuters) – So, this guy walked into a grocery store … and got completely overwhelmed.

U.S. men are doing more and more grocery shopping, both for themselves and their families, but retailers are still not doing much to make the trip any more enticing, retail consultants and industry experts said.

If you want to find me in an irritable mood, find me at the grocery store. My reasons are a little different than some of the men in the story. I always look for good prices, for one. But, it’s downright overwhelming going from one end to another. I see my paycheck slowly draining away. Perhaps, the most tortorous thought I have when I buy something is how many hours of work something cost. “I worked 45 minutes to buy that steak.”

One thing in here did ring true:

Unlike women, men tend to hone in on the specific thing they want to buy instead of surveying the entire aisle, consultants said. That can be a problem for manufacturers and retailers trying to promote new products that are the life-blood of packaged food companies.

I’m finished with an aisle when I got everything I planned on getting off of it, Andrea is finished when she’s looked at every single item.

I want to get and go, to her the store’s an adventure. You’ve got to find the happy media. I’ve been hard at work on it for years. I’ll let you know when I get there.

Leave a Reply

 
