Adam’s Blog

That’s my thing, keepin’ the faith, baby. –Joe Friday

Fiction Friday: Why Superman Hates His Job

Posted by Adam Graham on June 29, 2007

This is my first time in Fiction Friday which I found courtesy of Lyn. Hope this is what they had in mind.

This Week’s Theme: Pick a mythical person or creature (e.g., Santa, Thor, Easter Bunny), and explain through dialogue, essay, or anything else, why they are unhappy with their job or position in life.


You think Batman has problems, well you have’t seen the half of it. Superman, Inc. is about to go out of the Super Hero business. Why? Three words: $300 suits.He goes through those things like candy. This looks like a job for Superman *rip.* The few times he manages to leave his clothes in a safe place, some homeless person comes and steals them. Sure, Superman could hunt them down, but eve though it’s he himself is the victim, hunting down a homeless man in his work suit is below his standards, so he goes and buys another one.Clark Kent spent $25,000 on suits of clothes alone last year and due to the secret identity thing, he can’t even write off the suits as a business expense. He’s facing big time credit card debt and the credit counseler looked him in the eye and said, “No suits for you.”

Clark has figured out that the only way he can stay in the Superman business is to go into a field like construction or being a lifeguard with clothes that don’t cost so much. However, to do that he’d have to abandon years working at the Smallville Gazette, the Midtown Monitor, and the Daily Planet to lift boards all day. Plus, the construction industry doesn’t offer the flexibility of being able to dash off without anyone knowing you’re gone.

In addition to this, like most reporters, Clark wants to write a novel. Clark’s annoyed by the fact that Superman gets more accolades than he. “Nobody ever releases a ‘Clark Kent, Copy Editor.’ comic book” he told me. He’d like to focus more on his writing, maybe get more done on his blog. “I’ve got one post (if you count “Welcome to Blogger” as a post.)” He then dashed off suddenly and the last thing I heard him say was, “Oh great,  now I won’t be able to get my Fiction Friday done.” 

get the Fiction Friday code about Fiction Friday
Technorati tags: ,
12 Responses to “Fiction Friday: Why Superman Hates His Job”

  1. jaysee said

    Oh Adam, what a great start to your FF career! Your idea was so very original, and you developed it well. I now have the thought of Superman in swimming trunks to keep me warm on this soggy June day! Thanks. JC

  2. jaysee said

    Oh Adam, what a great start to your FF career! Your idea was so very original, and you developed it well. I now have the thought of Superman in swimming trunks to keep me warm on this soggy June day! Thanks. JC

  3. Tammi said

    What a very practical point of view…I never thought of the $$$ he spent on suits…Love how the line “No suits for you” rings of the Seinfeld character, the Soup Nazi: “No soup for you.” Double interesting that Seinfeld is such a fan of Superman.

    I also like that you address Clark’s writer-side…Working on a novel…but Superman is detached from the writer aspect of the character. Lots of stuff going on, here.

  4. Tammi said

    What a very practical point of view…I never thought of the $$$ he spent on suits…Love how the line “No suits for you” rings of the Seinfeld character, the Soup Nazi: “No soup for you.” Double interesting that Seinfeld is such a fan of Superman.

    I also like that you address Clark’s writer-side…Working on a novel…but Superman is detached from the writer aspect of the character. Lots of stuff going on, here.

  5. Lyn said

    No suits for you!
    Love it :-) This is right up FF’s alley – although, I guess I shouldn’t speak for them since I’ve only written two Fiction Friday’s myself! lol. Good job Adam. PS I like the new blog look, very easy on the eyes.

  6. Lyn said

    No suits for you!
    Love it :-) This is right up FF’s alley – although, I guess I shouldn’t speak for them since I’ve only written two Fiction Friday’s myself! lol. Good job Adam. PS I like the new blog look, very easy on the eyes.

  7. lissa said

    So whose perspective is writing this? Superman? Isn’t in the comic or movies that Superman’s suits are made by his mother?

    I laughed at the parts about his clothes getting stolen. And also the one about Clark blogging – that sure brings him up to the modern times but then Superman is a fictional character.

    I also wrote about Superman for Fiction Friday. Have a good week!

  8. lissa said

    So whose perspective is writing this? Superman? Isn’t in the comic or movies that Superman’s suits are made by his mother?

    I laughed at the parts about his clothes getting stolen. And also the one about Clark blogging – that sure brings him up to the modern times but then Superman is a fictional character.

    I also wrote about Superman for Fiction Friday. Have a good week!

  9. Adam Graham said

    Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. It’s really from the perspective of someone writing an article about it. I just imagined Superman having spnet years going to school to be a reporter and every reporter I know of has a novel in them, so voila.

  10. Adam Graham said

    Thanks for all the nice comments everyone. It’s really from the perspective of someone writing an article about it. I just imagined Superman having spnet years going to school to be a reporter and every reporter I know of has a novel in them, so voila.

  11. ~willow~ said

    hi! I’m a week late because I just realized I musta overlooked the later entires of last week. And boy did I miss out! Loved this perspective on Supe, love the Seinfeld links, and luuurrrve the idea of him deep in debt because of those suits! Looking forward to seeing more of you FF contributions :-)
    ~willow~

  12. ~willow~ said

    hi! I’m a week late because I just realized I musta overlooked the later entires of last week. And boy did I miss out! Loved this perspective on Supe, love the Seinfeld links, and luuurrrve the idea of him deep in debt because of those suits! Looking forward to seeing more of you FF contributions :-)
    ~willow~

Leave a Reply

 
